Si vous séjournez à Split, Sibenik, Trogir ou dans un autre ville à proximité, la visite de la forteresse de Klis vaut vraiment le détour, c'est une incroyable fortification située dans le village de Klis.

Vue de Split depuis la forteresse de Klis
Vue de Split depuis la forteresse de Klis

L'histoire de la forteresse de Klis

Nous savons aujourd’hui que l'emplacement actuel de la forteresse avait déjà accueilli un fort construit par les Illyriens au 2ème siècle avant Jésus-Christ.

Au 9éme siècle, après l’arrivée des Croates et la création de l’État croate primitif, Klis devint le lieu de résidende du prince. C’est ce qu’atteste le plus ancien document de l’État croate primitif rédigé par un prince appelé Trpimir du 9éme siècle.

Cette période est le début de l’histoire turbulente de la forteresse qui a été convoitée par tous les peuples conquérants en raison de son emplacement d'une grande importance stratégique.
La période du début du Moyen Age a été marquée par les incursions de peuples dits barbares, principalement les Goths et les Avars qui ont parfois essayé de conquérir la forteresse.
Pendant le Moyen Âge tardif, la forteresse est gouvernée par Venise qui contrôlait de nombreuses villes dalmates à cette époque.

Au 15éme siècle, l’Europe est en partie gouvernée par l'Empire Ottoman, qui tente de conquérir Klis à plusieurs reprises. Ils y parviennent un siècle plus tard, en 1537 quand la forteresse est prise par les Ottomans . Le gouverneur de la forteresse Petar Kružić est tué. Cent ans plus tard, la forteresse retourne aux mains des vénitiens, qui régnaient alors sur la Dalmatie.

Au 19ème siècle, la forteresse a été sous le pouvoir de Napoléon pendant une courte période avant que la monarchie autrichienne des Habsbourg prenne le dessus. Les autrichiens gardent le contrôle jusqu'au 20ème siècle.

En visitant la forteresse, vous remarquerez qu’elle a été actualisée et refaite à plusieurs reprises au cours de son histoire, selon les besoins militaires. Les Turcs, les Vénitiens, les Français et les Autrichiens l’adaptent selon leurs besoins. C’est pourquoi la forteresse est un véritable petit musée historique du Moyen Âge et l'époque modernes.

Le dernier évènement de l’histoire de la forteresse est d'avoir servi de décor à la série Game of Thrones (Le Trône de Fer). La forteresse était la ville de Meeren.

Détail de la forteresse de Klis
Détail de la forteresse de Klis

La forteresse de Klis est située à 15 kilomètres de Split, près de l’entrée de l’autoroute A1. Il est facile d’approcher en voiture et il y a un parking gratuit près de la forteresse.
Il y a quelques lignes de bus reliant Split et Klis, qui circulent tous les jours, plusieurs fois par jour pendant la saison estivale. Vous pouvez consulter l’horaire sur le site de la station d’autobus de Split (site en anglais). Il y a aussi des lignes de bus locales Split - Klis comme celles de la compagnie Promet Split.

Exploration de la forteresse de Klis
Exploration de la forteresse de Klis

Le prix du billet d'entrée pour la forteresse de Klis est de 40 kuna pour les adulte et de 20 kuna pour les enfants. Le billet inclus la visite au Parc Ethnographique Stella Croatica et au centre d’interprétation situé au pied de la forteresse.

Partie orientale de la forteresse Klis
Partie orientale de la forteresse Klis

Lorsque vous entrez dans la forteresse de Klis, vous recevrez une brochure avec une carte et des informations sur tous les sites d’intérêt pour les visiteurs dans la forteresse.

La forteresse a eu plusieurs entrées au cours de l’histoire. Il y a une très intéressante entrée secrète qui n’était utilisée qu’en cas de besoin, puis emmurée à nouveau.

L'entrée secrète à la forteresse de Klis
L'entrée secrète à la forteresse de Klis
L'entrée médiévale de la forteresse de Klis
L'entrée médiévale de la forteresse de Klis

Le fort Oprah a été construit au 14ème siècle. Il est devenu l’élément défensif le plus important de la partie ouest de la forteresse.

Fort Oprah dans la forteresse de Klis
Fort Oprah dans la forteresse de Klis

L’ancien arsenal est aujourd’hui un petit musée qui expose des armes utilisées dans la forteresse au cours des différentes périodes de son histoire.

L'exposition d’armes à Klis
L'exposition d’armes à Klis

L’ancienne résidence du prince croate abrite aujourd'hui un exhibition d'inscriptions archéologiques. La plus importante étant l’inscription de Trpimir du 9ème siècle.

Le musée est situé dans l’ancienne résidence princière à Klis
Le musée est situé dans l’ancienne résidence princière à Klis
À l'intérieur du musée de la forteresse de Klis
À l'intérieur du musée de la forteresse de Klis

L’église St. Vid a été construite dans un style roman.

Ancienne église de St. Vid
Ancienne église de St. Vid

Après avoir visité la forteresse, vous pouvez visiter deux lieux supplémentaires inclus dans le billet. Le premier est le centre d’interprétation situé à quelques mètres du parking, juste à côté du café. Vous y trouverez une projection vidéo qui dure environ 10 minutes et montre les détails les plus importants de l’histoire de la forteresse.

Le deuxième est Stella Croatica, un parc ethnographique situé à 3 kilomètres de la forteresse. Vous pourrez voir, expérimenter et goûter les traditions de l’arrière-pays dalmate.

Centre d’interprétation de la forteresse de Klis
Centre d’interprétation de la forteresse de Klis

Zvonimr Peran     2021-01-02

J'adore la Croatie, un beau pays aux destinations exceptionnelles avec une histoire, une culture et une population captivantes. Je voudrais vous le faire découvrir aussi.
Contactez-moi par email info@croatia-tourism.com ou en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.

Contactez-nous

Faites-nous confiance pour vous aider à vivre le meilleur de Klis Fortress.

Nouveautés du tourisme en Croatie


100 magnifiques photos de la Croatie

La plupart de ces photos ont été prises dans des villages de la côte croate en 2020, même si quelques unes datent de 2018 ou 2019. Pendant ces jours moroses de confinement et quarantaine je vous invite à profiter d'un aperçu de la beauté de la Croatie et à vous préparer à d'encore meilleures experiences de voyage en Croatie en 2021.

Split Croatie 2020 - après la pandémie du corona

Plusieurs personnes de l'Union européenne et du Royaume-Uni se sont posé la question si Split, Croatie et ouvert aux touristes durant le mois du Juillet 2020, après la première vague de la pandémie du corona. Juillet 20, 2020, je me suis promené pour vérifier si les voyageurs sont arrivés dans la ville de St. Dominus, aussi connue comme la ...

Zaostrog and Podaca - attraction et tourisme

La Riviera de Makarska a beaucoup d'endroits qui attirent des visiteurs du monde entier. Les plus connus sont Makarska, Baska Voda, et Brela. Par contre, il y a beaucoup d'autre endroits à Makarska Riviera qui ne sont pas glamours, mais consiste de même beauté naturelle et plages. Ces endroits sont plus intimes et parfaits pour ce qui préfèr...

Visitez aussi


Le Palais de Dioclétien - sites, carte et prix

Le palais de Dioclétien est la visite touristique et site culturel le plus célèbre de Split, Croatie. Bien qu'on l'appele palais, il s'agit plutôt d'une grande forteresse protégée par des tours et des murailles. Le Palais été construit au 4ème siècle par ordre de l’empereur romain Dioclétien qui a voulu ériger une forteresse pour pa...

Split Croatie - comment cela se présente-t-il en 2020 après la pandémie de corona

Split a été la destination préférée des visiteurs étrangers en Croatie ces dernières années. Jeunes ou plus âgés, les touristes ont bénéficié des avantages apportés par la "ville sous Marjan", comme on l’appelle souvent Split. Comme nous le savons déjà, les choses sont un peu différentes en 2020 à cause de la pandémie. En j...

Split

Si vous êtes à la recherche d’un endroit pour pratiquer des loisirs, la course, le vélo, faire une promenade romantique ou familiale à Split, il y en a un endroit parfait pour réaliser toutes ces activités. C’est le parc forestier de Marjan. Le chemin principal de Marjan est long d’environ 1700 mètres. Il est idéal pour les famille...

If you arrive in Split, Sibenik, Trogir, or some nearby place, it's worth visiting the Klis fortress, an amazing fortification building located in the village Klis.
Klis fortress is one of the most prominent fortification buildings in Croatia, with imposing history dating back to the period before the new era.

View of Split from Klis fortress
View of Split from Klis fortress

History of Klis fortress

It is known that in today's fortress area there was a fort built by Illyrians in 2nd century BC.

In the 9th century, after the arrival of Croats and the creation of the early Croatian state, Klis became a place where the Croatian prince had his residence. This is evidenced by the oldest document of early Croatian state made by a prince called Trpimir from the 9th century.

That period is the beginning of turbulent fortress's history which was desired by all conquerors because of its position featuring great strategic importance.
The period of the early Middle Ages was notable by barbarian invaders, mostly Goths and Avars who occasionally tried to conquer the fortress.
Throughout the later Middle Ages, the fortress was ruled by Venice, which had power over many of Dalmatian cities at that time.

In the 15th century, Europe is partially ruled by the Ottomans, who try to conquer Klis on several occasions. They succeeded one century later, in 1537 when the fortress fell into Ottoman hands. Governor of the fortress Petar Kružić was killed. One hundred years later, the fortress was returned back to the hands of the Venetians, who ruled Dalmatia at the time.

In the 19th century, the fortress was under Napoleon's rule for a short time, when the Habsburg (Austrian) monarchy took over. The Austrians ruled until the 20th century.

While sightseeing the fortress, you will notice that it has been upgraded and rebuilt many times during history, due to the military needs. The Turks, Venetians, French and Austrians adopted it as they needed. That is why the fortress is a real small historical museum of the Middle Ages and the more recent times.

The last stage in the history of the fortress is taken by Game of Thrones series. The fortress played the role of the town of Meeren.

Klis fortress detail
Klis fortress detail

Klis fortress is located 15 kilometres away from Split, near the entrance to the A1 highway. It's easy to approach by car and there is free parking near the fortress.
There are a few bus lines from Split to Klis, which run every day multiple times during the summer season. You can check the schedule on bus station Split. There are also local bus lines Split - Klis operated by Promet Split.

Exploring Klis fortress
Exploring Klis fortress

Ticket price for Klis fortress is 40 kuna for adult, and 20 kuna for children. Ticket is also valid for ethno park Stella Croatica and Interpretation centre located at the foot of the fortress.

the eastern part of the fortress Klis
the eastern part of the fortress Klis

When you enter the fortress, you will receive a brochure with a map and information about all places of visitor's interest in the fortress.

The fortress had several entrances during history. There is an interesting secret entrance that was used only as needed, and then re-walled again.

Secret entrance to Klis fortress
Secret entrance to Klis fortress
Medieval entrance to the fortress Klis
Medieval entrance to the fortress Klis

Oprah fort was built in the 14th century. It became the most important defensive element of the western part of the fortress.

fort Oprah on Klis fortress
fort Oprah on Klis fortress

The former weapons depot is today a small museum which exhibits weapons that have been used during history on the fortress.

Weapon exhibition on Klis
Weapon exhibition on Klis

The former Croatian's prince's residence is a museum exhibiting archaeological inscriptions. The most important is Trpimir's inscription from the 9th century.

Museum is located in former prince residence on Kliss
Museum is located in former prince residence on Kliss
Inside the museum on Klis fortress
Inside the museum on Klis fortress

Church of St. Vid was built in the Romanesque style.

Former church of St. Vid
Former church of St. Vid

After visiting the fortress, you can visit two additional places which are included in the ticket. The first one is the interpretation centre located few meters away from the parking, just near the coffee bar. It features video projection which lasts about 10 minutes and demonstrates the most important details in the history of the fortress.

Stella Croatica is ethno park located 3 kilometres away from the fortress. There you can see, feel and taste the tradition of the Dalmatian hinterland.

Interpretation centre of Klis fortress
Interpretation centre of Klis fortress

Zvonimr Peran     2020-06-10

I enjoy Croatia, beautiful country with interesting places, history, culture, and people. I want you to enjoy it as well.
Contact me on email info@croatia-tourism.com, or using the form below.

Contact us

We will help you experience the best of Klis Fortress.

Latest on Croatia Tourism


Split Croatia - how does it look like in 2020 after pandemic

Split has been the favourite destinations among foreign visitors in Croatia in recent years. Either young or old, tourists have enjoyed the benefits provided by the "city under Marjan", as Split is often called. As we already know things are a bit different in 2020 due to pandemic. In June 2020, I took a walk in the town to check if the city is...

Are you required to wear mask in Croatia

Ever since the pandemic started, and then the easing of restrictions in public life, there is a debate as to whether people are required to wear masks or not. The Croatian Institute of Public Health recommends to people to wear masks, but it is not mandatory. Masks are currently mandatory only in public passenger transportation, ie buses, trams...

Compulsory quarantine for visitors who arrive in Croatia from Balkan Region

As of June 24, 2020, Croatia has decided that all citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Kosovo and Macedonia who enter Croatia must undergo two-week self-isolation. The decision was made due to the worsening epidemiological situation in those countries. A similar decision was made a few days ago by Slovenia, which currently has the best e...

Visit also


Diocletian's Palace - attractions, map and prices

Diocletian's Palace is the most famous cultural and tourist attraction of Split, Croatia. Although called palace, it is more like a big fortress surrounded by walls and towers. It was built in the 4th century by Roman Emperor Diocletian who wanted to build a fortress to spend his retirement age. No wonder he chose the beautiful city of Split. ...

Split

Split, the second biggest Croatian city, is known for ancient sights, sandy beaches and rich nightlife. Alongside Dubrovnik, Split is the most important part of Croatia tourism, featuring millions of visits every year. Continue reading to find out main beauties of Split that attract so many people every year....

Beach Bacvice Split

If you arrive Split, then you shouldn't miss a visit and swim on beach Bacvice. Except being the most famous Split beach, Bacvice is a symbol of the city and Croatia Tourism. It is a place where many younger generations of Split grow up. Continue reading to find out the main attractions of the Beach and other tourist info useful to know before the ...

Related content


Top 3 destinations in Croatia in 2020

If you are about to travel or thinking about travelling this year, you found a right spot. Croatia is rightly ranked as a top destination of the Mediterranean in 2020, considering the favourable epidemic situation after the coronavirus crisis, currently with only a few active cases of infection. We will take a look at the top 3 places which are w...

Should you visit Croatia in 2020

Coronavirus has been changing our life in the past 3 months in many ways. One of the most significant changes that has been more or less present in every country is the restriction of movement. Lately, the situation is normalizing. EU is opening borders between its member states. The question which many people ask themselves is whether they shoul...

Solin and Salona - attractions, location, and price

If you are staying in Split for a week or longer, there are many day trip options. Everyone is talking about Trogir, Sibenik NP Krka, and islands Brac and Hvar. But for those who like exploring archeological sites from the ancient Roman times, Solin (Salona) is the top destination. Having open-air museum which features reconstruction of a former Ro...